Family

 

 

image

I’m waiting outside of the school that my grandchildren attend, the school that I went to, and the school that my daughter went to as a child.  On Wednesdays, Matthew and Casey stay late to participate in a Rembrandt’s class until 4:00.  I usually pick them up on those days and take them back to my house for the rest of the afternoon and into evening.  They look forward to it as much as I do.  I think they like the break from their two-year-old sister, Brynn.  As cute as Brynn is,  she is also a little terror.  She won’t leave Casey alone, constantly pulling her to one place or another to play.  One time Brynn pulled her into the kitchen and told Casey she had to go to work.  When Casey tried to leave the spot designated as work, Brynn yelled and pushed her back. (This is Casey’s contribution to this blog, by the way).  When Brynn gets tired of terrorizing Casey, she starts in on Matthew.  She goes to his room and destroys whatever he has been in the process of creating on his Lego table, scattering toys all over, creating a bigger mess  than was originally there. But you have to give both Matthew and Casey credit.  As impatient as they are with each other, they have double the patience for Brynn. I wonder how they will feel about Teagan, the six month old, in a couple of years. The four of them, Matthew, Casey, Brynn, and Teagan, along with their parents, Michelle (my daughter) and Troy are the center of my life.  I am blessed, although somewhat relieved that Brynn is not in school yet and joining us because it’s been a long day, and I don’t have the patience of Matthew and Casey right now.  I sure do love to watch her in action for short spurts of time, though……a grandmother’s luxury, I suppose.

3 thoughts on “Family

  1. I know what you mean. My three grandchildren are a handful too. i have a 4-year-old girl, 3-year-old boy, and 18 month boy. The oldest boy is rough and tumble with his older sister. He likes to head butt and hit. She enjoys coming over and getting MeMe time away from her younger brother. Thanks for sharing your sweet story.

Leave a Reply

