Mornings

I am not a morning person.  The worst part of my day during the school year is in the morning, waking up to an alarm.  Once I’m up and moving, I’m okay.  I just can’t stand that alarm.  Fridays aren’t so bad, because I can slam my hand against the “off” button and know that I have two blissful days of waking up on my own terms, not controlled by a small black box.  One of the worst days is coming up, when we “Spring Ahead.”  That sounds so cheerful, and probably is to the morning person!  It’s just another hour EARLIER I have to get up!

The most wonderful day of all, of course, is the last day of school. I refuse to touch that “thing” until the first day of school in the fall.  If, for some reason I have to set an alarm on the “off” days, I will use my phone alarm.  It’s somehow different. I won’t use it all the time because I would probably grow to hate it as much I hate the “black box.”  Once school is out for the summer, I get back into my comfortable routine which happens to be no routine at all, getting up whenever I wake up on my own.  Sometimes, it’s 8:00, more often 9 or 10.  I usually don’t climb into bed until after 1 a.m.  I’ve been known to begin cleaning floors at 9:00 p.m., or start a good book  and read until the birds start singing in the early morn.  I’d love to change my internal clock and be a morning person, waking up at the break of dawn, smiling and singing, jumping out of bed before the alarm has a chance to wake me. I don’t know if I would ever retire, if that were the case. Well, I wouldn’t go that far, but starting an early work day would be a whole lot more enjoyable.

4 thoughts on “Mornings

  1. Well said! My husband often complains that I hit the snooze button too much, but I need to feel ready to get up each day- of course having a child as an alarm clock helps too!

  2. I totally understand where you are coming from. Sometimes I don’t know why I chose of career (teaching) that I have to wake up so early for. My husband is a morning person. He usually leaves for school by 6 am…. I love to do things at night too! My favorite line:
    I’ve been known to begin cleaning floors at 9:00 p.m., or start a good book and read until the birds start singing in the early morn.
    I love reading late into the night.
    Sarah

  3. I am SO not a morning person either. Sometimes I feel bad for my husband because I’m just this crabby person before 8 am. We ARE so controlled by that little black box. Ugh!

Leave a Reply

