A Gift

On the first of every month, I receive a spiritual message sent to my e-mail. The first thing I did this morning was read that message.  Because of it, I felt a need to spend some quiet time in prayer.  In contemplative prayer, I haven’t a clue as to which way my thoughts/prayers will turn.  As it happened, today, I asked for an increase in humility.

“Ask and ye shall receive”

(After writing this quote, my curiosity got the best of me.  Where did it come from?  I looked it up to find out it came from no other place than the Bible, of course…how very appropriate….no coincidences in this post, or on this day in general)!

I received humility, in abundance today.  I read many, many wonderful slices of life, and immediately thought:

I can’t do this!

Compete against all these wonderful, talented writers????

I don’t stand a chance!

I am not creative enough!

I am way too old!

After my initial inner rant and rave, beating myself up, and the onset of depression, I realized what was happening.  The answer to my prayer!

So, after saying a prayer of thanks, I realized that intermingled with humility was compassion, support, and the possibility of new friendships.   On the very first day of slicing, I have changed the way I look at this time, my slicing time. I am here to learn:

About writing – This will make me a better teacher of writing.  I have already begun to see some areas that I know I can improve upon. In the last couple of days I have made a new best friend with a thesaurus based app that I downloaded awhile ago and never used before. This is something I want to spend more time modeling and practicing with my students. And that is only the beginning.

About life – This is not a competition.  I need to do the best I can, and be comfortable with the result.  I have to stop beating myself up when I come up short, and be happy with the lesson learned.  And, just as important, I have to teach my struggling, but overly frustrated students to do the same.

About myself – This gives me a chance to reflect, really reflect on all aspects of my life.  My reflection happens in the middle of the night when I should be asleep, and because I am in that partial sleep mode, it really does no good.  I usually forget by the time the alarm goes off. My reflections will now be written so I can return to them at any time.

About God – When I cooperate with Him who loves me, He will send me what I need in a gentle, loving manner.  Today he sent me humility, along with a compassionate, supportive new group of friends to help soften the blow.

Life is good.

9 thoughts on “A Gift

  1. Oh, Lynn, I love this Slice! It’s so reflective, and it’s like you take the reader right through your thoughts as you’re having them.
    Second of all, you’re 100% right – this is NOT a competition so there is no good enough or creative enough. It’s just about building the habit of writing and belonging to a community of other writers. YOU ARE A WRITER. That voice is your inner writing critic. Tell it to take a hike, will ya?
    And, too old???? lol lol lol lol

  2. Lynn, I don’t even know where to start! Your slice has me thinking of so many things! How beautifully you wove in your faith and beliefs with the writing challenge. I can totally see the relations

  3. The thing is that you never come up short as a writer. It just can’t happen. That’s what rewrites are for. 😉 I love your slices already and it’s only day 2.

  4. You are so right! As I read the first part of your slice, I thought: why do we make life all about a competition? The minutes we waste thinking we’re not enough…there are so many better ways to spend them! I’ve learned from this blog post for sure, and am reminded to be humble and open. I read a quote the other day: We’ve got to write about ourselves and our own stories–it’s all that we know. It’s what we have to offer the world. Let the world receive them as it needs to. (And sometimes the getting out of the stories is really what needs to happen…) I’m not sure if you can find it on the SCBWI blog or home page, but Kate Messner just gave a really great talk on all that we can learn from “failure” last weekend at the winter conference in NYC. I think you would like it!

  5. This is an amazing piece- so reflective. How much you can realize in one day! It is such a privilege to read all these other writers. I learn so much from every writer. I find the ones that stand out the most to me are the writers I have the most to learn from because there is something about the way they write that I haven’t figured out how to accomplish in my writing.

  6. As you can see I didn’t complete my comment to you earlier. My darned laptop was acting up! I’m so glad I returned to it this afternoon, because I had no idea it posted a partial comment! Truthfully, I have had your slice in the back of my mind ALL DAY. You wrote about all that you are learning about in so many different facets of your life and how writing every day is helping you get there. Thanks for such an amazing slice today!

  7. When I think of all the times I have learned from you over the years of knowing you, it always amazes me when you don’t see how amazing you are in every way. I read through some of you older posts as well and just am always struck by your spirit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

