Giving Up or Giving More?

Fat Tuesday!  And I have been going off my diet all day!  I just finished off a bag (small snack sized bag at least) of barbecue potato chips dipped in sour cream.  I am trying to finish off the chocolate candy so it doesn’t tempt me tomorrow and the coming days.  I will find a hiding place in the freezer for the unfinished portion, because there is NO way I can throw it in the trash.  We will be eating pizza and cake tonight for my father’s birthday.  This should be a good 2-3 pound gain day. I have worked so hard to take those pounds off.  When will I learn?

Giving up chocolate has been the mainstay of my Lenten fasting.  It’s a no brainer.  I love chocolate.  It’s fattening.  I can lose the craving and lose weight.  This year I am giving up chocolate candy, not all chocolate.  I keep a couple of boxes of chocolate protein bars at school for lunch.  It’s easy.  It’s chocolate.  I don’t have to pack a lunch. The only change I’ll be making during school hours will be omitting the little pieces of Reese’s peanut butter cups or M&M’s I eat before or after lunch.  THAT will be tough.

But, other than possibly losing a pound or two (that I gained on Fat Tuesday), and craving a candy bar at times, what does it really do?  I guess it’s an offering, a sacrifice, but what does it do?  There is no tangible effect that can be seen.

Listening to Relevant Radio on the way to work the other day, I heard of another idea.  It’s one that I wrote down a few months ago and promptly forgot about, but this time, I’m going to try it.  I am going to spend a little bit of time each evening, reflecting on what I have done RIGHT today. What did I do that helped someone else become a better  version of themselves?  What did I do to put a smile on another’s face?  I have no problem reflecting on what I’ve done wrong, but what did I do RIGHT?  That’s a little harder.  I will, of course, reflect on what I could have done better (like let someone with less groceries go before me in line, allow the person turning into traffic to get in front of me, even if it is a little old lady whose head doesn’t reach above the steering wheel, or a myriad of other little activities that make a difference in a another person’s life).  If you think about it, it makes sense. When a child reads to you or writes something, don’t you start out by telling that child all the things he/she is doing right? Haven’t we all seen the look on the face of that child when he is proud of what he has done, and the look of determination to continue on that path?  If you take the time to see and reflect on what good you did, what resulted from that action, and how you felt, wouldn’t you make more of an effort to continue?  You will strengthen that part of you, like the muscles you exercise over and over to tone them up. 

It’s time to tone my muscles up (okay….physically too….maybe I’ll add exercise to the mix).

I will still give up the chocolate candy, but I’m not going all out this year, giving up.  I will work on becoming the best version of myself, so that I can then become an example to others placed in my path on this journey we call life, to do the same.

12 thoughts on “Giving Up or Giving More?

  1. I like this idea, Lynn. You’re right, we all need to think about what we’re doing right. I think this is going to work well for you – although maybe you shouldn’t do it at night. I mean, it might keep you more awake…. if that’s possible.

  2. I love the concept of giving more as opposed to giving up. I don’t partake in Lent, but I have always asked my Catholic friends if it wouldn’t be better to concentrate more on being a good person than giving up a particular food? You hit my thought -you read my mind! Yeah!!!

  3. Lynn, such a great message to think about. Thinking about yourself and how we can help others. What a great reflection about life. I feel like you did your job today by sharing this idea with us!

  4. Your title popped up in my inbox and it alone got me thinking. To read the post behind it was even better. This is a great idea! Good luck to you.

  5. Oh Lynn, “omitting the little pieces of Reese’s peanut butter cups…” I think I had one of those everyday last year. So reflecting on what you have done right. I love it! Your analogy of strengthening that part of you & muscles…brilliant. Your closing…profound! I love this Lynn, love it!!!

  6. I was thinking the same thing and I even asked Lia and Shelby what we could do to make others happy. I’m still thinking, but I like your ideas on focusing on what you did right. I think you do more “right things” than you know.

Leave a Reply

