My Father, the Silent Inventor

My father could have been an inventor.  Actually, he was, many times over. He just never took it to the “As Seen on TV” level or beyond. He sees a need for something, and he works on trying to find the fix.  For instance, lint was clogging up the sink from the washing machine, so he made a lint collector out of perforated steel to hang over the edge of the washtub.  He designed lights that hang in my trees, shining up at night.   My father likes to garden, so he made a contraption using a wheelbarrow, umbrella, and who knows what else on it.  We used to have lockers in the junior high that consisted of two parts, top for books, and a bottom part for coats, book bags, and such.  Invariably, the upper locker would get stuck at the end of the day, and a student would panic for fear of missing the bus.  It wasn’t long before I had the perfect tool in hand, consisting of the handle of an old paint roller with a portion of a shelf bracket, flattened on one end, attached to it.  The tool worked like a charm to pry open the lockers.  It became a popular tool in the junior high.

My father has always been an outside-the-box thinker, and as much as his offspring tease him for his quirky ways, we have learned so much from him.  His memory is not what it used to be, but he is still going strong at 84. I wonder what he’ll come up with next.

9 thoughts on “My Father, the Silent Inventor

  1. I remember that locker-opening gadget! This is a great Slice about your dad – I feel like you added just the perfect details so we could understand him and his inventions!

  2. This is great, Lynn. Makes me think about how I think my dad could fix anything and would get mad at Tom for not fixing things like my dad. I feel like we can tell the person your dad is just by your writing. Excellent!

  3. This reminds me of so many students that I have. They are great inventors, fixers, creators but when it comes to paper, pencil they struggle. If only they could see that some day their talents will be well appreciate and could with the right drive make them a decent living!

Leave a Reply

