Skinnamarinkydinkydink

As I was walking out of a primary classroom with my IPad in tow, I realized Pandora’s Nursery Rhyme station was still playing.  All of a sudden, I heard a very familiar song that had me stopping in my tracks and smiling. Skinnamarinky dinky dink was being sung in the high, sweet pitch of children’s voices. It brought me back twenty-seven years, like it was yesterday.  I was walking with my daughter and her little three year old friend, Nikki.  They were on their tricycles singing that song.  As they sang certain parts, Michelle would stop her bike and bring her arms up in the movement they must have learned in pre-school.  At the time, even as I was probably a little impatient with all the stopping, I must have found it pretty cute, because the sweet feeling I felt today had to come from somewhere.  

I wonder why some moments come back so clearly while others are completely forgotten.  I wonder if we take stock of that moment in time, and purposely place it in a special part of our brain for later retrieval.  Sometimes, it seems like that happens for me.  As if I am saying to myself, “I want to always remember this feeling, or this sight, or this special connection.”

If so, I wish I had purposely saved a lot more special moments for later retrieval.

4 thoughts on “Skinnamarinkydinkydink

  1. “If so, I wish I had purposely saved a lot more special moments for later retrieval.”– this part gave me goose bumps!! I hope that is true. It is weird how certain memories just stick. Songs do bring back a lot of memories too!

    • “If so, I wish I had purposely saved a lot more special moments for later retrieval.” So, so true!!! Did I happen to mention that song brings back some pretty sweet memories for me too????….:-)

Leave a Reply

