How Do Spiders Know It’s Spring?

I wrote a slice last night that I was going to use about saving a sparrow.  But I’ve changed my mind.  This, being the first day of spring, reminds me of the first spring day last year. I saw my first spider of the season, both today, and last year at this time.  What is THAT all about?  How do spiders know today is Spring???

I hate spiders.  As much as I like other living animals, most of God’s creatures, in fact,  I HATE spiders!  And flys and mosquitoes.  I used to lie awake at night if I had seen a centipede in my room and was too slow to smash it to smithereens (which is kind of cool to see, by the way) with a flyswatter.  I often get centipedes from the crawlspace.

The spider I took care of this morning was kind of a cute little thing.  I almost felt bad putting him to rest.

5 thoughts on “How Do Spiders Know It’s Spring?

  1. Not I said the fly! I hate spiders although daddy long legs get a free pass sometimes (meaning they don’t have to hear me scream) cause they don’t scare me so much.

  2. This made me laugh. I am not a fan of spiders, but I can’t squish them. I often grab a jar and carry them outside…pathetic, I know.

Leave a Reply

